Next DLC compatible with current save?

When the next DLC (Legacy of the Ancients) comes out, will we have to start over? I’m guessing not, since we didn’t with B&T, but I wanted to ask.

Thanks!

You have to start new campaign to have all elements of new DLC. With Blood and Titanium you also had to do that. Otherwise you could only see some of the features, but not all until you tick that DLC at the start of the campaign.

But of course you can continue playing without DLC enabled, and probably part of the content will show up regardless of it being old campaign.

1 Like

Thanks, I started playing when the B&T DLC came out so I was just curious!

Do you belive we will have to start a new game from scratch with every DLC update? I’m enjoying the game but this latest update pretty much tossed out hundreds of hours. If there is a need to start a new game with each new DLC Do you think it prob safer to just wait until all or most of the DLC is released before replaying the game?

It one of my favorite games to play and and I’ve been cruising through since the update but since playing since early kick starter beta I’m not sure if I want to keep restarting over and over.

Do you think the developers will put in some sort of reward system for early adopters who have to constantly restart? Maybe a free ship or instant research upgrades would be nice.

You won’t need to start new when Legacy will come out and you will be able to continue with current campaign. But you will need to start new one if you want to see new content.

Recent patch (Cthulhu) was quite unforgiving if it comes to saved games. But I suppose it is one of rare cases where something like that occurs.