Class System feedback & suggestions

Hello here

I am new to Phoenix Point (PP), just bought it on steam week ago

I am really impressed with PP, have not finishing campaign yet, but I have arround 32 hours, so I am confidence enough to say some feedback.

In my view, what really needs to have attention from developers and fans is a class system, and especially heavy class with use/purpose of heavy weapons

In the current state (december 2020), the default heavy class armed with a starter cannon works as a melee fighter, with a “Brawler” perk, is better in melee than melee concepted Berserker class - super efectvive bash costs 1AP and Berserker’s Hammer costs 2AP

Heavy weapons, which cost 3AP are useless, due to lack of mobility, it is more effective to come close to enemy and use bash attack, or use a pistol for 1AP or shotgun for 2AP

Only effective way how to use a Heavy class with heavy weapons is to get multiclass, and get " Dash" ability from Assault, or “Quick Aim” from Sniper, and finally “Master Marksman” would make heavy weapons accurate;
so here we came to my point, other 2 classes work well with their “basic weapons” without need to get multiclass, the heavy needs it to be effective with using heavy weapons.

4 Likes

Heavy class is my favorite class because it’s the only class capable of using jetpacks and grenade launchers, and both are an amazing addition to any team.

Heavy + sniper equals jumping to a high point and sniping everyone.

Heavy + grenade launcher means blasting groups of enemies or enemies out of line of fire well before they reach you.

In early game even if you don’t multiclass, a heavy with the default autocannon is a fantastic defender - setup close range overwatch and it’ll just destroy any arthron that tries to get close.

The autocannon daze has also saved me so many times for enemies that I can’t almost quite kill immediately.